Driver’s Responsibility Assessment (DRA)
What is a Driver Responsibility Assessment (DRA)?
The driver responsibility assessment is a fee you must pay to NYS DMV over a three year period if you are convicted of certain traffic offenses in New York State or accumulate six or more points on your driving record within 18 months. This fee is in addition to any fines, penalties or surcharges that you must pay for a traffic conviction.
Who must pay the DRA?
You must pay a driver responsibility assessment if you were convicted of an alcohol or drugged driving-related traffic offense while driving a motor vehicle, boat, or snowmobile in New York State, you were found to have refused to take a chemical test for blood alcohol content in New York, or you received 6 or more points on your NYS driver record within an 18 month period for convictions of traffic offenses committed in New York, Quebec or Ontario.
You must pay the driver responsibility assessment whether you have a driver license issued by New York State, another jurisdiction or even if you do not have a driver license at all!
How much do I have to pay for the DRA?
The amount depends on the type of violation or the total number of points on your driving record. If you are convicted of an alcohol or drugged driving-related offense or if you refuse to take a chemical test, the annual assessment is $250. The minimum amount that you must pay each year is the annual assessment of $250. The total assessment for the three (3) years is $750 (which may be paid in a lump sum).
If you receive six (6) points on your driver record for violations committed during a period of 18 months, the annual assessment is $100. The minimum amount that you must pay each year is the annual assessment. The total assessment for the three years is $300. If you receive more than 6 points on your driver record during a period of 18 months, the annual assessment is $75 for each point in addition to the original six points. The minimum amount that you must pay each year is the annual assessment. The total assessment for the three years is $75 for each point in addition to the original 6 points.
If you must pay a DRA, NYS DMV will send you a statement with the amount you owe. You must pay at least the minimum annual amount by the payment date or your driver license or privilege to drive in New York will be suspended. You can also pay the full assessment.
The amount you owe may increase if you are convicted of additional offenses after your statement is issued.
If you hire my firm, we will appear in court for you (so you stay at home, work or school), reduce or eliminate the charge and points, which in turn, reduces the DRA, court fines and adverse effect upon insurance premiums.
Call Now For A Free Initial Case Evaluation